Technology

When Brad went on his first 6 month deployment back in 1998, we were amazed with the technology of email.  It was wonderful to have such a great connection with him.  Gone were the days of waiting to hear from your loved one serving overseas for weeks, and possibly months on end.  My sister-in-law, Linda, told me one time that her mom and dad went many many months without hearing from each other during the Korean War.  I don’t know how they did it!  I am afraid I am not made of that “Right Stuff” I would have gone stark raving mad!  But, then, I guess we do what we have to do.  Our advanced technology has been very good to me, when Brad was on his last 3 months of his year deployment on the USS George Washington he was living in the BOQ in Yokuska and we were able to Skype just about every day.  It made those last three months go by so much easier!  And now, with Lance gone, technology has been good to Savanna.  They have been able to email quite frequently and when he has been in port he has been able to call on cell phones that sound like he is in the same room and they were even able to Skype a little bit.  Being apart is never easy, even with today’s technology, nothing replaces the person being right there with you, but it certainly does make the separation a bit easier.  So, in my typical fashion of typing much and saying little, I will get to the reason for this post.

The kids were all home for dinner last night (well, Matt didn’t get off work until 9:30 so he didn’t eat dinner with us) but we had them all under one roof for a least a couple of hours last night.  Since Crystal is leaving tomorrow I wanted to get a picture of all the kids before she left.  As we are taking the picture, Crystal mentions that Lance isn’t here so we really don’t have everyone.  That’s okay, I can make that happen!  The original picture:

My first attempt at getting a picture with everyone was pretty good, except for it looks like Ryan is getting just a little too friendly with Lance…

So, of course that wouldn’t do!  So, I went back and worked on it a little more.  It still isn’t perfect by a long shot, it was just a quick little edit for fun!  Here’s the final one:

Leave a Reply

